# **PARALYMPIC COMMITTEE OF INDIA**

(Recognised by Government of India) (Affiliated to IPC, IWAS & APC)

### Dr. V. K. Dabas

Chairman, STC Para Swimming, PCI

# XXIII-National Para Swimming Championships, 2023-24

## THE REPORT

#### THE CONDUCT AND PARTICIPATION:

The XXIII-National Para Swimming Championships, 2023-24 for both Men & Women in all the three age groups (Sub-junior, Junior and Senior) were conducted by the Paralympic Committee of India at the newly constructed Atal Bihari Vajpayee Training Centre for Disability Sports (ABVTCDS), Gwalior from March 29-31, 2024. The Championships were hosted by Para Sports Association of Madhya Pradesh in collaboration with Atal Bihari Vajpayee Training Centre for Disability Sports and under the technical guidance of Para Swimming Federation of India. There were a record number of 772 participants in the Championships which included 456 Para Swimmers (353 male and 103 female) from 23 different states/teams, 58 Coaches, 89 Escorts, 93 Parents and 76 Technical Officials. Stay arrangements for the technical officials were made at the ABVTCDS Hostel. Entries were received from Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, PCI Team, Rajasthan, Services Sports Control Board, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand and West Bengal. Due to the Model Code of Conduct in force in Gwalior for the General Elections, 2024 and on the advice of the local administration, the Opening and Closing Ceremonies were avoided. However, Victory Ceremonies were conducted side by side in all the 298 medal events (195 for Men and 103 for Women) conducted in the Championship.

#### WORLD PARA SWIMMING APPROVED CHAMPIONSHIPS:

The Championships had the approval and recognition from World Para Swimming (WPS) and were conducted strictly observing the WPS Competition Rules & Regulations. Automatic Officiating Equipment were used in Competition. Competition races were conducted on March 30-31, 2024. The performance of swimmers shall serve as a basis for their selection for the forthcoming International Para Swimming Championships & Paris Paralympic Games, 2024. All Results, Rankings new National records shall be uploaded on PCI website. Performance of WPS classified and licensed swimmers for 2024 shall be uploaded for World and Asian Rankings by International Paralympic Committee (IPC) on its Portal.

#### **CLASSIFICATION TEAM:**

Classification of Physically Impaired swimmers was done by Classification Committee on 29<sup>th</sup> March consisting Dr. V.K. Dabas, Technical Classifier; Dr. Manish Rana, Medical Classifier and Mr. Sharath M. Gayakwad, Paralympian & Arjuna Awardee.

#### AGE GROUPS:

2.

Competition in following Age Groups were conducted:

- 1. Seniors (Men & Women)
- Born in or before 2005.
- Juniors (Men & Women) Born in and between 2006 & 2008.
- 3. Sub-Juniors (Men & Women)
- Born in and between 2009 & 2011.
- EVENTS AND CLASSES:

S. No.	EVENTS	CLASSES
1.	50m Free Style	S-1 to S-13
2.	100m Free Style	S-1 to S-14
3.	200m Free Style	S14
4.	50m Back Stroke	S1 - S13
5.	100m Back Stroke	S1 - S14
6.	50m Breast Stroke	SB1 - SB9, SB11 - SB13
7.	100m Breast Stroke	SB1 - SB9, SB11 - SB14
8.	50m Butterfly Stroke	S1 – S4
9.	100m Butterfly Stroke	S5 - S14
10.	150m Individual Medley	SM1 - SM4 (without Butterfly)
11.	200m Individual Medley	SM5 - SM14
12.	4x100m Free Style Relay	34 points (maximum, S1 to S10)
13.	4x100m Medley Relay	34 points (maximum, S1 to S10)

#### MANAGERS' MEETING:

Managers' Meeting was conducted at 5:30pm on 29<sup>th</sup> March in a Conference Hall of the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Training Centre for Disability Sports. Good number of Managers attended the Meeting. Doubts and queries were answered to their satisfaction.

#### **TECHNICAL OFFICIALS' MEETING:**

**Technical Officials' Meeting** was conducted on 29<sup>th</sup> March at the swimming pool at 6:30pm and they were briefed about the Rules, accuracy and standard to be followed as these were WPS approved Championships. Their duties were allotted during the meeting and they were informed about the reporting time. The Technical Officials were distributed two T-shirts each during the Meeting to be put-on by them over next two days.

#### THE RACES AND INDIVIDUAL BEST SWIMMERS:

The events were offered keeping in mind the event list of Asian Para Games and International Championships. A total of 298 medal events (195 for Men and 103 for Women) were conducted. Six Individual Championship Trophies were given in 3 Age Groups of men and women sections seperately. The winners of Individual Trophies were **Tejas Nandakumar**, Karnataka (Senior Men),

Rohit Kumar Gond, Chattisgarh (Junior Boys), Aniket Vainatheya, Karnataka (Sub-Junior Boys), Sathi Mondal, PCI Team (Senior Women), Riya Patil, Maharashtra (Junior Girls) and Jiya Gamnani, Rajasthan (Sub-Junior Girls).

#### **TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP:**

For the first time Karnataka team won **Shri Khem Chand Dabas Memorial Team Championship Trophy** with a total of 358 points. Maharashtra remained second with 344 points and West Bengal won third place with 233 points. Rajasthan remained forth with 132 points, Andhra Pradesh won fifth place with 130 points while Tamil Nadu remained sixth place with 124 points.

(**Dr. V. K. Dabas**) Chairman, Para Swimming, Paralympic Committee of India, and Organizing Secretary, XXIII-National Para Swimming Championships, 2023-24